Tegrity: Re-Naming Chapters

Tegrity automatically divides recording into chapters when there are significant changes in the screen you are recording. For example, when you move from slide to slide in PowerPoint, each slide becomes a separate chapter in Tegrity.  Here are the first three chapters from a recent recording I made (each chapter shows as a separate thumbnail):

Tegrity Chapters

If I want to change the names of my chapters, it’s fairly simple.  First, my recording is not running. Rather, I’m in Tegrity and I can see a list of many of my recordings. I put a checkmark in front of the one recording where I want to change the chapter names. From the Actions menu, select Edit.  This will put me in the Tegrity Class Editor (remember, a “class” is a recording).

Once in the Tegrity Class Editor, I can again use the Actions menu, but now there are different options.  Pick Edit Chapter.  I’ll now have a drop-up (!) menu which allows me to pick the chapter I’d like to edit:

I’ll select the chapter to edit, click the Edit button, and then modify the chapter name as needed.  When done, click OK.

The one trick? When I’m editing the chapter name, I have no idea what that chapter shows (!), so I think I’ll print out some thumbnails or make some notes before I get too deep into renaming my chapters.

Leave a comment