Educator’s 2.0 Manifesto

I unexpectedly took a trip down memory lane as I was searching in a drawer for something this morning.  Years ago I happened across a lovely blog post by librarian Laura Cohen (2006) called “A librarian’s 2.0 manifesto.”  (Read about it here:  http://theunquietlibrarian.wordpress.com/tag/laura-cohen/”.

Hard to believe that the “2.0” tag is soon approaching ten years!  2.0 was a term used to indicate that proverbial paradigm shift – that space between our roots and our wide-open future.  It conveyed with simplicity the notion that while we are still passionate about our core mission (our 1.0 calling) we recognize and embrace the shifting ways we meet that mission, both challenged and propelled by technological advancement.

Finding this manifesto reminded me again of what I so admire in the wonderful people around me, in our librarians, our elearning staff, and our creative faculty who spend every day in this awesome place, well beyond 2.0. 

With sincerest appreciation of Laura Cohen’s wonderful manifesto for librarians, I submit to you the Educator’s 2.0 Manifesto (a slight re-rendering of Cohen’s piece):

  • I will recognize that the universe of educational culture and technology is changing fast and that we need to respond positively to these changes to provide resources and services that students need and want.
  • I will educate myself about our students and look for ways to incorporate what I learn into classrooms and services.
  • I will not be defensive about my classroom or college, but will look clearly at our situation and make an honest assessment about what can be accomplished.
  • I will become an active participant in moving my college forward.
  • I will recognize that colleges change slowly, and will work with my colleagues to expedite our responsiveness to change.
  • I will be courageous about proposing new services and new ways of providing services, even though some of my colleagues will be resistant.
  • I will enjoy the excitement and fun of positive change and will convey this to colleagues and students.
  • I will let go of previous practices if there is a better way to do things now, even if these practices once seemed so great.
  • I will take an experimental approach to change and be willing to make mistakes.
  • I will not wait until something is perfect before I release it, and I’ll modify it based on student and faculty feedback.
  • I will not fear open educational resources and open learning, but rather will take advantage of these to benefit students while also providing excellent learning experiences that students need.
  • I will avoid requiring students to see things in our terms but rather will shape services and instruction to reflect students’ needs.
  • I will be willing to go where our students are, both online and in physical spaces, to provide educational experiences and services.

Thank you, Laura!

Leave a Reply

