InstructureCon

Oh my goodness! The last week has been a whirlwind that took me from Lewis County to Park City, Utah — and back again! It was like taking a trip into the future; I was an hour ahead of Washington time, and I was seeing sessions on technology and thinking that is moving forward at an amazing rate. So, you might even say that this trip to Utah was a trip back to the future.

Marty McFly and Doc Brown from Back to the Future costumes

Get it? The CEO of Instructure, Josh Coates, dressed up as Marty McFly and was accompanied by Doc Brown — you can see a bit of the DeLorean in the background, too! (photo by Alexis Austin)

We had two solid days of sessions and keynotes, interspersed with some time for admiring the beauty of Utah, getting to know fellow Canvas-users and potential users, and meeting some of the fantastic folks of Instructure. The majority of my sessions focused on tech components (that I’m still trying to wrap my head around), but I also had the opportunity to sit in on some sessions about course creation, campus-wide Canvas strategies, troubleshooting techniques, and training opportunities.

Some campuses are using Canvas a one-stop shop for all their student needs. They have moved their student orientation to online, creating a move-at-your-own-pace DIY orientation that provides consistent and clear information for new students. University of Maryland created a comprehensive approach to Canvas support, so that they could better handle their ridiculously-large campus and the needs from instructors and students as they transitioned to Canvas. There was a healthy mix of folks from larger schools (thousands upon thousands of students) and smaller schools (some of them made Centralia sound like a massive campus), so the tips and tricks I learned may need adjusting for our campus, but wow! I’ve got so many ideas and so much information running through my head that I can’t even think straight. I can’t do justice for all the sessions that I attended, and I definitely can’t speak for the ones that I had to miss (why couldn’t I time-travel and be in eight places at one time?), so hopefully you’ll stay tuned for when Instructure releases the recordings of all the sessions from the conference. We’ll make a blog post when those are available.

We took over the #instcon tag on Twitter, and folks have been posting some of their videos on YouTube for the world to see. You can listen to a song written about the Canvas Calendar and see MC Hammer crash the opening keynote. I’m sure more videos will be surfacing soon.

Stay tuned for more blog posts about some specific sessions, tips, and tricks!

eLearning @ Centralia College
Kirk Library
360.736.9391 ext 672
elearning@centralia.edu

Leave a Reply

