Tegrity Diagnostics

I hate when something goes bad in my car. I am not car savvy. I can change my own oil, add transmission fluid (because the old Buick tends to lose more than it uses), check the air pressure in the tires… the basics. I cannot tell you what that clunking sound is by the front left wheel. I just know that it isn’t right. I usually take it to my dad or a mechanic and voila, it’s fixed!

Sometimes, I feel the same way about technology. I know how things are supposed to work, therefore I know when something isn’t working correctly… but I don’t know exactly what is wrong or how to fix it. This happens all the time with students on personal laptops when they are trying to watch Tegrity videos for a course — usually something needs updated on their computer, but sometimes it’s hard to tell what exactly is out-of-date. That’s where Tegrity Diagnostics comes in.

Kathy showed this to me when I was having Tegrity issues on my computer. Tegrity Diagnostics is a service provided by Tegrity that checks your computer to make sure you have everything in working order. All of the items on the list must be in working order for Tegrity to work — if you have a red X next to something, it means you need to do an update (or possibly switch your internet browser).

Screenshot of Tegrity Diagnostics

You can see that my computer is all set to play Tegrity videos (I didn’t think to take a screenshot until after my red X went away). Some of these items can’t be changed by you and are dependent on the kind of computer you are using. But some are super easy to change to get your Tegrity videos working.

Web Browser: We recommend you use Firefox for your internet browser, but you can also use Chrome and Safari. Just make sure you’re running a recent version of the browser.

Enabling Cookies: Here is a great resource for enabling cookies in nearly every browser type and version.

Javascript: This is a great website for learning how to enable Javascript on your computer.

Windows Media Player: You can download Windows Media Player at the official Microsoft website. If you need the Windows Media Player plugin, please check in the add-ons for your browser.

Pretty nifty, eh? So, the next time you’re struggling with a Tegrity video, check out the Tegrity Diagnostics website for a quick check into what could be causing the problem.

eLearning @ Centralia College
Kirk Library
elearning@centralia.edu
360.736.7391 ext672

Leave a Reply

