I Love to Travel

suitcaseI love to travel, and honestly I really enjoy the planning.

  1. Where am I now? (will I start at Sea-Tac? Portland airport? Amtrak station? My garage?)
  2. Where am I going? (Oh… British Museum! Paris!  Bryce Canyon!)
  3. Who’s going with me? (mom will need her walker… will my new grandson be going with us?)
  4. How will I get the trip organized? (who will help me? what books should I read? websites?)
  5. What will I need to do, to help those going with me? ( will there be elevators for my mom? new grandson may limit night-time activities)
  6. What’s the best way to get there? (airplane, of course… but a train trip might be lovely!)
  7. What are some alternate routes? (we might want to take a side trip to Ireland on the way to London? What about stopping at Zion on the way to Bryce?)
  8. What do we do once we get there? (are there mini-tours we can take? let others lead us? head out on our own? can we figure out the London tube system? should I have maps ready?)
  9. What do the travel experts say? (Lonely Planet? Rick Steves? Friends?)
  10. What feels right? (I’ve traveled before, I’ll use that experience)
  11. Can we afford to do what I want us to do? (not only in terms of money, but what about effort, time?)
  12. Adjust plans… and TRAVEL!
  13. Of course, we’ll have to adjust things along the way (our flight is delayed? Starbucks at the airport is *not* open at 5 a.m.!? luggage lost?)

Back home. Now what?

  1. How did it go? (I know where I’d planned to go, what to see, what to experience; did it really work? what really happened?)
  2. What do others on the trip think? (just because *I* thought it was great, really, was it?)
  3. Tell others about your experiences on your trip! (presentations? photo books? blog?)
  4. What will I do the next time I take the same trip? (because of course, going to London just once is never enough!)
  5. And the next time I go, how will I keep the trip fresh and exciting for me?

SO WHY IS ALL THIS ON AN ELEARNING BLOG?

Have you ever thought about Instructional Design? It’s a nice fancy phrase, but just what does it mean?  Think about a course you’d like to teach… and think about that course as if it were a trip you’d like to take.

  1. outcomesWhere is that course now? (never taught this course before? old and stale? taught once, but needs work?)
  2. Where am I going? (outcomes!)
  3. Who’s going with me? (what are your students like? where are they in their learning? Anyone need accommodation?)
  4. How will I get the course organized? (what are the latest theories about learning? any new research relevant to my topic? what will work for me AND my students?)
  5. What will I need to do, to help those with me? (do videos need captioning? do images need “alt” tags? larger font for handouts?)
  6. What’s the best way to get there? (online? F2F?)
  7. What are some alternate routes? (hybrid? flex?)
  8. What do I do once we get there? (does the publisher provide resources? should I pre-make videos? should I have handouts in PDF format?)
  9. What do the teaching & learning experts say? (do a little research, librarians can help!)
  10. What feels right? (if you’ve taught before, use that experience)
  11. Can you afford to do what you want to do? (when does the course begin? will you have enough time, resources, and help?)
  12. Adjust plans… and TEACH!
  13. Of course, we’ll have to adjust things along the way (campus floods? flu? office computer dies!)

End of the quarter. Now what?

  1. How did it go? (did you and your students accomplish what you’d planned? were students successful? assess outcomes)
  2. What do others in the course think? (ask your students those hard questions, and listen to their answers)
  3. Tell others about the experiences in your new course! (presentations! blog posts! faculty learning communities)
  4. What will you do the next time you teach this course? (because of course, teaching Excel  just once is never enough!)
  5. And the next time you teach the course, how will you keep the course fresh and exciting for you, the teacher?
One thought on “I Love to Travel

  1. thanks for the great travel guide on planning a course. your step-by-step approach helps to break down what could be an overwhelming experience, getting folks to maybe think differently by answering some great questions. thanks Kathy!

Leave a Reply

