A Trip to Morton

I had the wonderful opportunity to travel out to the Centralia College East campus that is located out in Morton. Now, if you know where Morton is, you’re pages ahead of some of my family members (give yourself a pat on the back). If you’ve never taken the drive, I encourage you to take a day and make your way out there. Along the way, you can stop at Mayfield Dam and Lake Mayfield, as well as Degoede Bulb Farm (home of amazing tulip fields in the Spring). Morton is known for it’s Loggers Jubilee held every August.

Photo of indviduals participating in log rolling

Fun times in Morton in August

What most people forget about when they think about Morton is the absolutely amazing satellite campus that is out there. Did you know you can earn an entire Associate in Arts degree through the Morton campus? This is a fantastic opportunity for students from Central and Eastern Lewis County who don’t want to drive all the way to Centralia to take classes.

You can also take courses for the follow programs at CCEast.

  • Administrative Assistant – ATA
  • Medical Administrative Assistant – ATA
  • Legal Administrative Assistant – ATA
  • Accounting – ATA, AAS & Certificates
  • Business Administration – ATA
  • Office Assistant and Legal Office Assistant – Certificate
  • Medical Office Assistant – Certificate

I went out to the campus to talk to folks about Canvas and Angel. Talk about friendly folks with good questions! It was great seeing things from the other side of the county… things are so different out there. I loved the coziness of the campus.

I just feel extremely fortunate to have a job that allows me to go to other parts of our Centralia College family to help them succeed with Canvas and Angel. I hope I get to go out there again to talk more about Canvas.

4 thoughts on “A Trip to Morton

  1. It was an absolute pleasure to have you here at CCEast. Thank you so much for coming, and helping us with Canvas and Angel. We look forward to your next visit. Feel free to come anytime!
    Thank You,
    Amy Birka
    CCEOS Secretary
    CCEast Office Assistant

    • Aw, you’re so nice, Amy — but really, it was so much fun! Don’t be surprised if you see me there next quarter for another trip. 🙂

  2. I go to the east end on a regular basis. Every Two weeks finds me in Morton helping current and future students with Financial Aid issues. Its always a fun trip, nice to see the flowers in the spring and the blueberries in the summer/fall. The snow in the winter is not my fav but very pretty reguardless.

    • I can imagine that the drive is not that wonderful in the winter, but the springtime driving makes it worth it. I had never had the chance to go out that way to the campus and I’m glad I finally made it — definitely a wonderful piece of the Centralia College family.

Leave a Reply

