Am I the Last One? Overtype Mode

If you’re like me, once in a while you press some seemingly random key on the keyboard and then as you type, your words are replaced!

For example, if I type:
Now is the time for all good men to come to the aid of their party. 

Click in front of the word “men” and then type, normally I could easily get:
Now is the time for all good women to come to the aid of their party.

But when I press this weird key, I get:
Now is the time for all good won to come to the aid of their party.

Why is this?  And what did I just learn about it?

Normally when you’re typing on a computer you’re in what’s called the “Insert” mode. Whatever you type is inserted between other letters.  That’s what makes it so easy to click in a sentence and add a few words between other words.  However, if you accidentally press the INSERT button on your keyboard (mine is to the right of my backspace key, so sometimes I flail around trying to press backspace and I accidentally hit the Insert key), you TURN OFF INSERT mode and instead go in to OVERTYPE mode. As you can tell by its name, OVERTYPE means that as you type, you type over previous text.

It’s easy to fix, just press the Insert key again.

BUT – and here’s what I just learned today:  When you’re in Word 2007 or 2010, by default you cannot turn on OVERTYPE!  How cool is that!  No more accidentally hitting that darned Insert key and then erasing half your text as you type!

Yes, there’s a way to turn OVERTYPE back on in Word, if you really want it, but honestly, who would want to?

Leave a Reply

