Moving to a New LMS

Here at Centralia College we’re in the process of  v e r y  s l o w l y  moving toward a new Learning Management System (LMS). We’ll be staying with our current LMS for many more quarters, but it’s got me thinking about change.

Change is stressful

Change is frustrating

Change takes time I don’t have

VW carWhen I think about changes in my life I remember one of my first cars (hey, this was a LONG time ago!). That car

  • did not have a radio
  • did not have a night rear-view mirror
  • did not have a rear window defroster
  • did not have automatic door locks
  • did not have automatic door windows
  • did not have airbags
  • did not have seat belts
  • it didn’t even have a gas gauge!

But that old car was terrific! It got me where I needed to go and did everything I needed… or at least I thought it did… until I discovered how terrific a night rear-view mirror was! And safety? Let’s not even talk about seat belts and airbags. I’m so glad now that I have a car with a radio and a gas gauge. Would I go back to that old car? No Way!

As I move toward a new LMS I know there are going to be times when I’ll be frustrated and be wondering “WHY WHY WHY do we have to change?”
But I also know that that new LMS is going to have some great features that I didn’t even know I needed.

And I’m really looking forward to a time in the future when I look back at our old LMS and say “I’m so glad we’re not using that old LMS any more… I can’t believe that way back then I couldn’t even…”

I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

