Tegrity Captions and AST – The Story Behind the News

Jack Foley created the "CC in a TV" ...

Image via Wikipedia

I just read Automatic Sync Technology’s (AST) August newsletter and was pleased to see their announcement that they are partnering with Tegrity to streamline service.  Kathy and Eric have been doing a lot of work to mediate between the two companies to provide captioning service for us.  I love what these companies have done to make the process easier.  And I’m proud of my peeps for their tenacity!

Since we have been trying to figure out how to do captioning on videos in 2009 much has changed.   Our very first ad hoc attempt was Kathy paraphrasing text that we then overlaid onto YouTube videos.  This was very painful, inefficient, and (as it turns out) incorrect!  So we were happy to find AST that would provide correctly formatted caption files for us.  It’s not cheap, but it has worked for us flawlessly and we LOVE their customer service.

Now we have Tegrity for lecture and presentation videos.  This is a great service and works so well.  However, let Kathy Brooks explain how trying to do captions with Tegrity worked in 2010.

When we first got access to Tegrity and the ease of making video recordings, I was interested in how to add captions.  The Tegrity instructions called for a particular caption file format.  Great!  We’d already been working with Automatic Sync Technology (AST) for captions and I had a sample Tegrity recording to try.  I downloaded the .mp3 file from the Tegrity recording, logged into our AST account, uploaded the audio file and asked for the file type I needed.  When the caption file was emailed to me I was so excited to get it associated with my Tegrity recording…

But it didn’t work!  I contacted Tegrity, and apparently their help files were incorrect.  ARG!  There was an explanation of the specific formatting needed [sparing you the long technical explanation], so I worked through the steps of reformatting my caption file so it would match Tegrity’s requirements.  ARG! again.  I did get it to work, but was frustrated with amount of time and effort it took.

At the same time I’d been in contact with the folks at AST, making sure I had the correct format for Tegrity, etc. They confirmed that the simple instructions in the Tegrity help files online were incorrect.  But, when they head that I had a caption file format that worked, they asked for MY instructions.

Suddenly I was helping AST!

Soon thereafter, AST and Tegrity began working together.

We’re pleased to announce that following a mid-August update to Tegrity, it’s now super easy to create Tegrity video captions as the process between Tegrity and AST is almost seamless.  Request a caption, and within three days – poof! It’s there already connected to my recording.  No more downloading audio files, no more asking for special file formats, no more downloading a file from AST and then uploading it to Tegrity.

Just so you know, we still have to pay for captioning services so if click the button nothing will happen until our Tegrity administrator has a signed purchase order.  Let us know if you have any questions about how this works.

Leave a Reply

